Sunday afternoon Genealogy Fun

Sunday Afternoon Genealogy Fun – Moving on Out

Each week on Randy Seaver’s Genea-musings blog he has a post for Saturday night Genealogy fun. Because of the time difference, I have called my series Sunday Afternoon Genealogy Fun. This week’s mission was:

1.  Where did you go the first time you moved out of your parents home?  Did you have roommates? Did you live by yourself?  Did you get married right away?  Tell the story – your children and grandchildren will want to know!

2.  Share your story in your own blog post, in a comment on this post, or on Facebook.  Please leave a comment with a link to your post here.

Here’s mine:

The first time I moved out of my parents’ house was to go and stay in my aunty Margaret’s house in Frankston, as I had been accepted at the Frankston State College to train as a primary school teacher.  I also stayed with my sister at Bonbeach for a couple of weeks, as one of my practical teaching placements was, I think, in Mentone, and her house was a little bit closer. I also moved into the dormitory at the college for the last couple of months, as I had a falling out with my aunt.

I returned home to Mitcham at the end of the year.  I only completed the 1st year of the training, as I wasn’t suited to teaching.

The next time I left home was when my sister moved to Queensland, and I took over her flat in Burnley.  It was a single bedroom flat, so I was on my own, but my boyfriend at the time came and stayed for a while. At that time, I was working at T & G in Collins Street Melbourne, so it was closer to work.  I only stayed there for a couple of months before returning home again, as I wanted to buy a car, and I couldn’t afford to living in the flat.  

It was two years later when I left home for the final time to get married.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon Genealogy Fun – Moving on Out

  1. Taking “baby steps” sometimes is the best way. I was a bit timid and waited too long to make that leap into independence.

    Like

  2. Your first moves from and back to your parents’ home are typical. I had been out on my own for 4 years but returned home to earn my master’s degree, as my parents lived close to the university.

    Like

Comments are closed.